Claim: In any field - business, politics, education, government - those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership

Leadership is the ability of one to push the organization towards the path of success by maintaining the pleasant environment surrounding the organization. In this author claims that the leader of any field should step down after 5 years because the only path of success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership. I personally disagree with this claim due to some of the below mentioned reasons.

First, If the person who is in the power of any organization would have vital experience in the field, they are working in. They would be rooted within the mission and goal of their organization. They would be knowing each and every aspect of their organization. So, to step down after serving 5 years to an organization will not only hamper the reputation of the organization but will also impact the success path of an organizations. If we explore history then there would be only a few instances where this type of rule would have benefitted the success of the organization.

Secondly, If the new leader will take over command of an organization, then it will take some time for the new one to understand the eco system of the organization. Thus the process of being comfortable to lead the organization for the new leader would not be easy process. It can happens that the new leader brings new rules for the organization then it will also be difficult for the employees working under them to being flexible with this process. It can also negatively affect the success of an organization.

We have to understand here than if we change the leader body the employee or staff working under it still needed to be same. So to consider them to be flexible to adapt the changes brought by new leader is not feasible thinking. For example Nikon camera had the policy to change its CEO after frequent interval of time and new CEO always come with new sets of rule and idea. Now if this rules can be adapted by the employee it will be good but if it did not get set with them than there will be downfall of the company which is was happened with Nikon.

The author had provided the supportive reason that changing the leadership is the path of success for any organization and it can be true for some of the sectors like government, but this cannot be hold true for all the sectors. For example, in the business sector it will be hard if we change the CEO of the company every 5 year for the company to survive in this competitive market.

Thus, the author claims to implement this rule for every sector is worthless to be considered. I think if the one is getting success with the leadership shown for any organization than it should be considered to be continued for the interval until the organizations sees the downfall or if leader to step down willingly.