Claim: Any piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.

Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate.

Science is always creating new theories and explanations on how the world works. These theories are not immutable and have been, through the course of time, improved and corrected and will continue to do so. These theories are refined in order to depict the world in the best way possible, thus a new finding that goes against a theory must be incorporated, somehow, in the theory. This is how science works, and as Karl Popper proposed, every single theory must be falsifiable in order to be a theory. Therefore, to claim a fact as completely true is incorrect, because the fact is true in the chunk of space and time we live in. For that reason, I strongly disagree with the claim above, for the following 3 reasons.

Firstly, the reasoning in this excerpt is quite truthful. In the course of time, as stated above, theories have been deemed inaccurate and new ones have been put in their place. However, the claim is a rather extreme one, and we must agree that from one theory to the subsequent one, seldom does the new one completely go against the former. Usually, the new one is based on the former and corrects a few points that may not hold true in the new findings. Take for example Newtonian physics that was replaced by the theory of relativity. Well, Newtonian theories didn’t include every single case and were inaccurate in some areas, but if it didn’t exist, or if people like Einstein didn’t even believe in them, they would have to begin their theories from scratch, and perhaps couldn’t even develop useful new findings in his lifetime. Science is, like a skyscraper, built by stories, each one built on top of the other, doing some maintenance when it is needed.

Additionally, if we are so skeptic as to ignore everything science tells us, then what is the purpose of science? Discoveries should improve our lives and explain to us how the inner mechanisms of reality work. If we didn’t believe in new discoveries, our society would become stagnant. Take the example of the computer. I would not be writing this text were not for some brilliant guy named Turing discovered how a computer could be built and some guy named Bill Gates put this theory in practice and built the personal computer. It was because Gates believed in Turing’s discoveries that we now have this piece of machine. If he deemed Turing’s discoveries as useless, I would still be writing this on paper. Or maybe even in a rock, if skepticism is taken to such an extreme.

Lastly, for our lives to run smoothly we must believe in something. We can deny science if we want to do so. But we cannot deny the fact that, for example, we exist, or the world around us exists because if we do so then how can we run our lives? If the world doesn’t exist then what is the purpose of getting up in the morning? Better to stay at home the whole day. Actually, why would I even stay in bed if I don’t exist? This can lead to seriously dark thoughts and affect one’s mind in such a way that they end up depressed and without meaning in life. We must, at least, take some facts as certain in order to live a normal life.

In conclusion, one might say that science is mutable, but if he doesn’t believe in science at any given moment, then he will not believe in progress and will end up rendering his life useless. We must believe in something in order to live, even if it is as small as the existence of reality, no skeptic can deny its existence and run a normal life at the same time, rendering this position unsustainable.