Claim: In any situation, the best way to persuade other people is to present them with facts and statistics rather than with emotional arguments.

Reason: Facts are objective, so they are more persuasive than subjective appeals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim that objective appeals triumph over subjective appeals can be misleading. Time after time we have seen the general public elude information presented to them by experts, only to be persuaded by other’s emotions. I have to disagree with this claim for the following two reasons.

To begin with, a cogent human can rationalize that facts are universal. For example, mathematics hold true here or in mars two plus two will always equal four. In the same manner when trying to influence people with facts if the information is valid it will hold true. However, this can be convoluted for some since not everyone is an expert or has an idea of how to interpret these facts. For instance, global warming is a hot topic in these currents times. Scientists have presented irrefutable data to politicians in hopes of securing funding and passing laws that wil prevent the further production of green house. The issue here is that most of the facts are too complex for people to make any real sense of it. But, the other side argues with subjective claims such as taking away innate rights and turning into a communist country. Most people can relate to this and thus get swayed ignoring all the facts. This represents how being subjective can overcome objective claims.

Futhermore, we have recently experienced an unprecedented attack on vaccines, especially, relating to COVID-19. The world’s top scientist corroborated to bring this mRNA to everyone’s house hold in hopes of eradicating the deadle virus. However, when asked questions of how the vaccine works, they presented reports and studies that most people found arcane. Words like nucleotides, ribosomes, and double sense strands are just a few. This discourages people to pay attention or be amenable for the vaccine. On the other hand, people voiced their anger and subjective ideals onto the streets linking the vaccines to autism with no empirical data or studies. However, they are able to persuade mass groups because objective claims work in the particular issue. It shows the human aspect to which most can relate in contrast to science terms that are too difficult to understand. Again, this example shows how subjective claims can be more persuasive than objective claims.

All in all, which a reasonable personal will admit that factual objective claims is the obvious choice, well this might not always be true as we can see from the previous example. It is hard to evoke someone’s opionion especially if they’re not proficient in that field. Hence, they are more inclined to listen to something they find common word with. In most cases these are subjective emotions.