Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

The writer claims that the best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that society chooses as its heroes or its role models because the heroes and role models reveal a society’s highest ideals. Although it is true that the heroes and role models reveal a society’s highest ideals, it is difficult to proclaim that is the best way because the society is more than just an ideal.

When the writer sketches the hero, the virtues that the society think it is valuable is projected into the hero. think about superman and batman, the most popular hero of all time. When they are living in a normal life, they stand on the exact opposite side, one living in poverty, work as a busy news reporter and the other living in luxurious, indolent silver spoon. However, when the danger approaches they wear there uniform and stand on the same side-justice. For the sake of the society, they do their best sometimes sacrifice their own valuables such as lover. From those heroes, people learn and remind themselves that justice is the highest ideals of the society.

The proponents of the statement contend that then it is the best way to examine the society because the heroes and role models are something people show respect and try to follow the path. As people are heading on the same way, it becomes the character of the society.

However, there are several admired heroes that people know deep down that it is impossible, an illusion. When we scrutinize superman and batman, there are something unrealistic about them. Superman is an alien from another planet and batman could hide his identity just by covering his face with mask and making his voice more husky. The statement that the proponents are making should be more specific : people are trying to run on the same track, but not everybody succeed the stay on track, sometimes they fail and sometimes they give up. when the majority fail to sustain their position, the ideal that the hero is trying to show will not become the character of the society.

Also, it should be acknowledged that the society is more complicated than heroes or role models. The society is reality, where the real people are living in and the reality always contradicts ideal. Would it be possible to imagine the us today just by examining the role models of us such as Lincoln or Washington? The characteristic of the society includes economic system and political system, which are all sophisticated and quite far from ideal. By living in a real world, the ideal sometimes transmutes.

In conclusion, it is agreeable that heroes and role models reveal a society’s highest ideals, but it is not the best way to seek the character of the society.