Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.

Reason: College students - like people in general - prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

I mostly disagree with the claim that institutions of learning should state all the requisite courses and remove elective courses based on the reason that people typcially like to follow directives rather make their own decisions. I support my stance with two reasons although I concede that there are situations where it is best for the colleges and universities to specify the entire courses for the students.

First of all, colleges and universities as citadels of learning should be in the forefront of promoting learning. Allowing students to select some of their courses i.e. electives enables them exercise and test their decision making ability. For example, a student who is interested in learning a language although he or she majors in Mathematics could opt select a course in French language and explore how this decision impacts his or her academic performance. Irrespective of the actual effect of decision, the student ultimately learns from the process of making and been responsible for decision taken by self. Furthermore, the availability of choices engenders learning since if students have input in the selection of courses, they are more likely to be committed to learning since their preferences are reflected in the courses they have chosen to study. Thus, it is beneficial to allow the students the freedom to select some of their courses.

Secondly, the practice of simply following directions translates to limited development of student. A person used to been directed or guided in learning or thinking would be unlikely to learn how to think. For instance, the student who has courses specified for him or her throughout the his or her programme may not appreciate the rationale for those courses, he or she just takes those courses because they are all required. This practice does not enhance the resoning ability of the student and hence undermines the basic benefit of education - the edification of a person.

However, in cases where the study is hugely demanding, highly specialized and very expensive, then a specification of courses by institution is necesssary. To illustrate this, take a particular program that is funded by government or an agency for a particular purpose, it would be prudent to state the curricula and focus the students on it rather than allowing them experiment with electives. This would enable judicious use of the funds and the resources of the instituion. Another pertinent situation is where the resources of the college or university is limited i.e. there is inadequate man power or facilities to take on the various courses selections the students may opt for. Hence, the feasible approach would be to specify all the courses for the students.

In conclusion, this issue is not a straight-forward one and thus, several perspectives can be advanced depending on one's school of thought. Nevertheless, I mostly do not agree with claim or proposition as I believe that students should be allowed to take active part in the enhancing their learning experience instead of just obeying directives.