Claim Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive Reason It is primarily in cities that a nation 039 s cultural traditions are preserved and generated Write a response in which you discuss

The prompt says that governments should support major cities financially so that they can thrive, and claims that cities are the ones that preserve and generate a nation’s cultural traditions. While I agree, in some extent, with the first part of the suggestion that government must ensure financial support to the major cities, I disagree with the assertion that cities are primarily the ones that preserve and create a nation’s traditions for two reasons.

To begin, I personally think that a government should pay special attention to their major cities when financing because cities are the major sources of their economical and developmental success. But other parts of the nation should not be ignored completely. It fact, it is a government’s responsibility to support every of their cities and villages, and not only their major cities, in every possible way so that they can function properly in the welfare of the nation. If a government only helps their major cities by financing them and abandon their peripheral cities and villages, even if major cities thrive, these peripheral areas might suffer and hold back the nation’s prosperity as a whole.

Second, in my opinion, rural and suburban areas are primarily the ones that preserve and generate a nation’s cultural traditions, not major cities. In fact, major cities are the ones where different traditions and cultures are mixed and adulterated. For instance, if we look at the major cities of the United Kingdom such as London, Birmingham, Manchester etc. we see that they are highly cosmopolitan. Millions of people around the world visit these cities everyday, millions of people from different nations and cultures move to these cities every year and settle themselves, sharing their cultures and traditions with English and other people, dilute the native English culture. On the other hand, small cities and rural areas of a country does not attract foreigners much. So, there is a little scope of culture adulteration, keeping their endemic culture and traditions untouched. Thus, if a government really wants to restore the nation’s culture and traditions, they should finance rural and suburban areas instead of major cities.

In conclusion, a government cannot just finance and ensure the preservation of a nation’s cultures and tradition. It takes a nation as a whole to preserve its cultures and traditions.