Claim: Imagination is a more valuable asset than experience.Reason: People who lack experience are free to imagine what is possible without the constraints of established habits and attitudes.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you a

Imagination can be loosely defined as the synthesis of new ideas. There is some merit to the claim that lacking constraints is valuable when considering the creation of new thoughts and ideas. However, this reasoning is quite exclusive and extreme. When considering value, there are several components within the realm of experience that should not be overlooked.

Experience offers a more pragmatic and proactive methodology to acting on imagination. Experienced individuals have several time sparing advantages that others do not. These advantages include knowing what has been done and what has not been done before. Building on this idea, experience offers knowledge of what will and will not work. One might imagine the construction of a medical device that, for instance, may be useful in the induction of spinal anesthesia. Theoretically, a larger bore catheter may allow for desirably faster and more effective pain control. However, experience may already note that this idea has been exhausted in the past. While the idea sounds logical and new in theory, experienced individuals understand that it has been well established and appreciated that faster delivery of anesthesia often has an opposite effect and is contraindicated based on a number of poor outcomes.

Experience also offers the tools needed to execute or test new ideas. Thinking of a new idea has value, but proving worth and possibility is another. Take antibiotic therapy for instance. It is easy to imagine a method for controlling virulent and resistant bacterial infections. Methods may sound well and work well in theory. Nevertheless, considerable value can be placed in the rigorous and definitive testing of any hypothesis, regardless of creativity level. Testing bacterial vulnerability to therapy takes time and knowledge that comes from years of education and practical experience.

Conclusively, there is value to creativity lacking experience. Situationally, out-of-the-box thinking can be highly sought after. However, experience also offers several comparably valuable aspects that should not be overlooked especially when considering pragmatism and ease of execution.