Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.Reason: The world today is significantly more complex than it was even in the relatively recent past.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or

The author claims that understanding the past is useless to make important decisions today. While I find this claim paradoxical on its face, the paradox is explainable, and the explanation is well supported empirically. Nevertheless, the claim is an unfair generalization in that it fails to account for other empirical evidences serving to discredit it.

A threshold problem the speaker’s claim is that its internal logic is questionable. At first impression it would seem that the different social status between the past and today may be too substantial to provide useful solutions to social agendas. Yet, the author is underrating the past’s conduction on similar current issues can provide useful clues in predicting possible outcomes. Even though its outcome turned out to be a failure, still we can investigate the causes of failure and at the same time utilize opposite methods for promising outcomes.

However, the discrepancies between the past and current conditions are tending to be larger and diverse. One of the reason could be fast technology development. Just a century ago, there were no computers and smartphones which were regarded just as some SF story sources back then. However, these became common or even compulsory devices to live in this era. So in technological fields, it won’t be beneficial to learn about past represented as an obsoleted and time-consuming one. Instead, putting effort to discovering undiscovered scientific principles or innovating current technology could be more beneficial to our future world.

Nevertheless, studying about the past still provides hardly obtainable but invaluable information in situations requiring professional knowledge. Such situations can be applied to difficult and unexpected natural disastrous situations. For example, recent Hawaii island’s volcanic eruption occurred for the first time in this century. Even Hawaii is one of the volcanic islands, the residents are not used to this eccentric situation. In this case, volcanic experts are likely to search the past records and cite some important data to predict further volcanic eruptions. If there were no data from the past, Hawaii must be in the fear of unpredictable future eruptions that will lead to even death. In some cases, the past’s records could even save our lives.

In sum, the speaker’s argument seems to be unpersuasive as it stands. Indeed, it has some merit, especially in the field of science or computer technology, yet this argument could be lacking the importance of the past’s knowledge. Since human beings are just a meager existence in this vast cosmic world, learning from the past and obtaining enlightment from them could help us out solving our current social agenda more efficiently.