Claim: No act is done purely for the benefit of others.

Reason: All actions — even those that seem to be done for other people — are based on self-interest.

The world is blessed with benevolent people striving for others’ welfare. As an allusion to the view of psychological egoism, the author claims that no action is purely done for the benefit of others for the reason that every altruistic act is based on self-interest. Given that every altruistic action has tangible or intangible rewards for the individual involved and the human instincts to act on psychological needs, both the author’s claim and reasoning are unequivocally valid.

Foremost, many charitable acts stand to reward the benefactor both materially and directly, hence corroborating the claim. While celebrities engaged in charity gain from enhanced reputation; NGOs get societal recognition for their work. Industrialists through corporate social responsibility benefits from tax exemptions and increased customer or client base due to goodwill development. Similarly, students participating in voluntary work gain valuable experience giving better opportunities in jobs or admissions into top institutions. Politicians find electoral rewards for their community work.

Both the author’s claim and the reason find support in the fact that self-interest is not limited for material benefits. Proving the adage ‘Helping is the basis of happiness’, researchers have scientifically proved that participation in altruism triggers the release of specific hormones responsible for the sense of happiness in humans. It is certainly for this reason that the epitome of kindness Mother Teresa found meaning in sacrificing her life. The feeling of self-worth, reward in the putative afterlife and closeness to the Almighty can also be other possible drivers. Moreover, the inherent impulse to shape the society according to one’s own principles of morality has been the interest of stalwarts like Gandhi, King Jr., etc. behind their struggles for society’s welfare. Then there are other acts, such as parental care, which are based on the expectation of reciprocation and human nature to safeguard one’s belongings and assets.

Beyond, the good feelings of pleasure and expectations, self-interest also mean seeking redemption from pain. This pain can arise from the self-guilt of not helping the poor or from the shame of being seen irresponsible in a society where altruism is a part of culture. Needless to mention that Mother Teresa, Gandhi, King Jr. were also interested to get rid of pain felt by watching the miseries of the people and evils of the society. While it can be argued that such actions emanate from empathy rather than self-interest; empathy itself implies making someone’s interest own. Therefore, pursuing that interest, and hence the resulting act, amounts to fulfilling own interest and not of others.

People argue that there is a difference in expecting benefits from a work of charity or getting it without any prior intent. For instance, when someone helps a vagabond for the first time, hardly does he know about the feel good moment that results from it. Still, the act is driven by their want to avoid the guilt of not helping the poor looking guy. Furthermore, critics of psychological egoism cite instances where a person has to act too instantaneously to have time feel any positivity or negativity about the act. The classic example is of a soldier sacrificing his life to save his comrades by jumping on a grenade. However, psychologists explain that such acts result from conditioning of behaviour inculcated in the soldier through repetitive training of warding off danger. Deviation from such behaviour causes discomfort and hence is in the self-interest of the soldier. Yet, the feeling of positivity for saving others’ life and negativity about dying comrades, recognition of martyrdom and valour, etc. cannot be ruled out as the driving self-interest of the soldier.

In the final analysis, every act done for the benefits of others reciprocates tangibly and tangibly. Even if the benefactor doesn’t intend to derive any rewards, the interest to avoid self-guilt and ignominy of not catering to someone’s needs and miseries forms the basis of a charitable act. If not due to greed or conscience, it is simply the need to follow a conditioned habit that warrants altruism in the heat of the moment.