Claim: people can understand the character of a society by men and women that a society chooses as its Heros or role models.

Reason: Heros and role models are the society's highest ideal.

The author of the issue claims that men and woman that a society choose as its hero or role model can best describe the character and hallmarks of a society. He further reasons that the society's highest ideal is distinguishable by Heroes and role models. Personally, I refute the rationale behind both the claim and the reason. The underlying aim of this essay is to put forward some cogent reasons that shed light on a number of issues in this framework.

To commence with, it is established beyond doubt that people have an inevitable tendency to choose men and women as their role models or Heroes because they play a consequential role in any given society. Broadly speaking, in today's hectic city of life, people's lives are not ideal to describe the character of a society. As a palpable example, celebrities are the epitome of success for many thanks to the publicity they receive from social media and are more often than not imitated by those who have an insatiable desire for fame. But celebrities' lives are not ideal owing to the fact that they do not make a secret of alcohol, drug abuse, short-term relationships and so forth. So, hardly can these immoral behaviors help people to understand the real character of a society. To elucidate more on this issue, such behaviors cannot provide an opportunity for people to realize what the culture or a society is.

Another equally salient point in corroborating my stance is the life of politicians that many people choose them as their Heroes. If we take a minute to ponder over it, vast majorities of politicians and the government before the election represent a true character, committed, hard-working attitudes and so forth. But after the election, their personalities totally change and they forget what they have said. If people choose these kinds of people as their heroes or role models, such negative features will be soon widespread in the whole society. So, we cannot say that these traits are the highest ideal of a society. It can be deduced from a combination of breadth of coverage and depth of detail that human beings should not rely on their heroes and role models if they want to understand the character of the society where they live due to the fact that people's characteristics are changing at a very swift pace and their habits are not stable.

As far as the reason is concerned, it should be pointed out that Heroes and role models are not able to show the society's highest ideal because there are several factors which describe the highest ideal like welfare and well-being of people living in the society. Indeed, the society and the government should bend over backward or make efforts to improve living standards in the society owing to the fact that people need to live in a flourished and a thrived society. That being so, despite the popularity of Heroes and role models in any given society, hardly can they show what the culture or a society is.