College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The availability of jobs can affect whether students decide to go into specific areas of study, because many are ultimately interested in landing a job after graduation. College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field, but, to the extent that they first consider job fit, that this helps them make a practical choice, and that they also have considered job market fluctuations.

The primary objection to basing one’s field of study entirely on job availability is a lack of consideration for job fit. While there are many jobs available in engineering, not everyone should pursue this field simply for that reason, because some people despise math and in addition struggle with it. If they were to pursue a major in engineering, they might flunk out due to lack of interest or the ability to handle a differential equations class. For this exact reason, it is imperative for college students to first consider whether a major will at least fit their skillset and somewhat match their interests before blindly choosing that area of study.

Secondly, others might argue that students should do what they are passionate about, because this will allow them to be determined and successful in their role, despite the availability of jobs. However, disregarding the availability of jobs entirely can be risky and impractical. While one must concede that student would be fine if their field of study is not related to the job they hope to obtain (i.e. a minor), if the field of study will be their future job, they must consider job availability. Ancient basket weaving sounds fun, for example but there are so few jobs in this area that a student would be almost guaranteed not to find a job after graduation. Moreover, college students must at least consider job availability in order to actually land a job, if that is the goal of their study.

Lastly, disputants might posit that the job market is ever changing, so one cannot solely base one’s decision on job availability at the present. This is true. While students should at least consider job availability in their field of study decision, they must also consider whether the job they are interested in will soon go out of practice, or on the other hand, burgeon. A job that is not even available at the time that a student joins school, such as one in bitcoin creation, could actually be highly available upon graduation. This example shows how market fluctuations in job availability should clearly also be considered in a students’ decision regarding their field of study.

As outlined above, many objections exist to the blanket statement that college students should base their field of study on the availability of jobs in that area. By considering all aspects of the issue, a more nuanced position leads to more logical outcomes.