Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

According to the passage, the author believes that a firm should regularly check their employee's emails. The author assumes that reforming such a policy could make the employee more productive and the company wouldn't have to face the possible risks of a lawsuit.

The author in this argument sounds logical; if the employee's work and emails are kept under supervision, then the employee will be more focused and productive. The employee would not get distracted from his work, especially when he knows that he is being monitored. Also, since the employee is being supervised, the risk of lawsuits would not occur just because of a single employee. That is, one employee's wrong doing wouldn't affect the company's reputation. This is due to the fact that the emails and other work are going through various levels of supervision.

However, the authors states that creating such a policy would save precious time. This could not necessarily be true because time spent in supervising can also be posited as time wasted.

Also, in gainsay to the author's argument is that the employees of the institution wouldn't be very happy of such a policy. A policy such as this would reduce the freedom and free will of the employee to a great extent. Such a policy could also be misconstrued by the employee as 'lack of trust'. So before making any decisions, it is necessary to ask all the employees' opinion about such a policy. Such a policy would also limit the creativity of the employee. It can also be considered a breach in integrity.

All in all, it would be suffice to say that such a policy has its own merits and demerits. However, it could be considered that such a policy could lead to employee dissatisfaction but ultimately lead to the company's prosperity.