Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Constructive criticism in any field is valuable no matter the source. Being open to criticism is important because it allows one to gain a different perspective of one’s work. Feedback received from both experts in the field and laymen can definitely be insightful. Though the opinion of connoisseurs in the field are definetely more valuable, there are a number of cases where everyone’s point of view is equally important.

A good example of a field where people’s opinion is of utmost importance is politics. In any democracy, a politician must take into consideration the views of the public while framing laws and making policy. To frame policies that are just and that take into account the priorities of the entire population, it is vital that representatives from every section of the society have their say in public policy. Feedback from the public can help the government take better decisions that are beneficial to the majority.

Another field where the opinions of non-experts are sought after is software engineering. Feedback loops from the customer play a key role in the software delivery life cycle. It is paramount that software developers lucidly understand the requirements and problems of their customers while designing software. This has given rise to the process of “agile” software development has set the standard for good software development practice in the industry today.

While the criticism from common people can help, the advice and opinions of experts can add more value to one’s work. Experts in any field possess a vast amount of experience and have failed plenty of times. They are aware of the common pitfalls and usually have a broader and deeper understanding of the domain. They can not only offer criticism on the current quality of a person’s work, but can also provide advice on how to improve. Experts can point you in the right direction and can shed light on different perspectives that you never knew existed. For example, take music, art, and dance. Though it is crucial that the perfomer pleases the audience, their feedback can only tell how good they currently are. Expert’s advice on the other hand, can help them realize how they can be better.

In conclusion, everyone’s criticism of an individual’s work is valuable, especially if those are the audience or end-users or benefactors of your work. An expert’s advice is of even more value as their opinions can give you a clearer picture of your mistakes and can also lead you in the right direction.