Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A glance at modern pedagogy sheds light on a question that has somewhat instigated discussion for long, that is, whether schools and universities have the responsibility to prevent students from studying the fields that they are not likely to succeed. The attitudes are ambivalent because doing so can falicitate the career of a student, or damage it at the same. As far as I am concerned, educational institutions should not meddle the students decisions unless in some special cases.

Foremost, it is almost impossible to predict whether a student can be successful in a certain field. Although in schools and universities, a plethora of exams offer a relatively subjective evaluation of a student\'s performance and talent in a field of study, it does not necessarily mean that one cannot continue working on it in the future. Let us take the British Noble Prize laureate Professor Gould as an example. His teacher at Eton College ruthlessly concluded that he did not have the attribute to study life sciences based on his test scores. On the contrary, Profssor Gould found his passion for biology in university and eventually became a renowned biologist.

What is more, students should have the lattitude to choose their fields of interest according to their willings, and there is no reason for the educational institutions to hinder them. The statement assumes that every student is expected to be as successful as possible in future career, which makes it reasonable for educational institutions to help students avoid failure. Nonetheless, I would like to assert that the ultimate goal of any sort of education is not to cultivate successful people, but to let the learners explore the world under the guidance of their own interests and enthusiasm. Were this be the true creed in educating the next generations, schools would not have any logical reason to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study that seem to be close for success.

Notably, giving students the freedom to choose what they want to learn does not equal having no restrictions. Admittedly, there are some fields that require certain requisites, excluding some students in the first place. For instance, having a good voice is generally a requirement for singers, and many role models in the field receive relevant training at an early age. If a student make the determination to be a singer when he or she is in middle school or even high school, the chances are that he or she would not become a professional singer. One may also need to be tall enough to become a professional basketball player. This is when educational institutions are expected to get involved and thoroughly investigate the students\' weaknesses and advantages with them.

In conclusion, there is no exact anwser to whether educational intitutions should avoid students from learning what they are not going to perform excellently. In some cases, the potential of students are unpredictable, while in other situations students are expected to make decision rationally. I would like to suggest that schools should generally not interfere with students, but be prepared to offer consultant and help when needed.