The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well being of that country's citizens.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There is a disputation whether the well-being of a country is the best ruler to measure the effectiveness of the country's leaders. I think the question heavily depends on the meaning of "effectiveness": what does it mean of effectiveness of leaders? I think this means leaders' ability on governing their countries. Thus I will focus on the status of the country mainly, and I will evaluate leaders be reflecting this status. I will present two types of countries, one pursues strong country but seems not care their citizen's well-being, and the other want to catch well-being but not effectively. Therefore, maintaining well-being of their citizen is not a best way to measure the effectiveness of leaders.

Firstly, there are leaders who pursues "strong country"; there are various aspects of strongness: the most simplest one is getting strong military and force, and less simplest one is culminating their own culture. For example, various presidents of the United States during Cold War develops their scientific techniques and cultural influences, but surprisingly, none of them developed systems for social welfare: although many citizens enjoys financial developments, some poor citizens were not.

There might be an objection: getting a strong military and well-developed culture is related to earning money, and it also related to the well-being of citizens. However, both relations are not exactly hold: consider Nazi Germany as an example. Adolf Hitler depicted a vigorous Germanic country, so he trained military and eventually led to a war to enlarge their territory. Does it improves German's well-being? No, lots of their citizens were exploited by the war and suppressed by the Nazi government.

Secondly, we know that various countries which pursue the well-being of their people, like Scandinavian and West European countries. Various communist countries, like Cuba, is also an example. Let me focus on communist countries: their motto is (in most cases, "was") to provide welfare services for their people. Unfortunately, their object is ill-performed: their system hampers productivity of factories and farms, and It harms their economy and affects their culture in bad ways. Even though people of the country are happy for free health cares and education, their country seems not under effective rule.