EVERY NATION SHOULD REQUIRE STUDENTS TO STUDY AT LEAST ONE FOREIGN LANGUAGE FROM ELEMENTARY SCHOOL LEVEL THROUGH THE UNIVERSITY LEVEL.

Acquiring the knowledge of a foreign language is important to achieve a balanced education, so also is mathematics, fine arts or entrepreneurial studies. There are different individual students in every nation of the world in a wide array of circumstances ranging from favourable to unsuitable. Therefore, the requirement for every student in every nation to study a foreign language is quite extreme.

In developed countries with large populations like China or the United states, people do not seem to learn a new language as much as people in smaller or developing countries. Many people in these large countries tend to never leave their own countries in their lifetime as they can achieve or obtain all they want: education, businesses, health, leisure amongst others in their home countries. Colleges and prep schools here are of course free to make foreign language instruction optional. In Quebec, however, it seems reasonably to make foreign language mandatory for nearly everyone as French is a minority language in Canada and North America while English language is the international business language throughout Canada and North America. If the Quebec government do not compel students to learn English, it would struggle to compete in the global job market.

While Quebec has a good standard of living, many nations cannot provide foreign language instructors nor will such requirement be a priority. In Northern Nigeria where early marriage is being practiced or girl-child education is at a slough of despond, the time frame for education for students in such situation is too short to mandate that they learn a new language as it would be a waste of effort and time. Schools and teachers in such areas should be free to decide the best use of the limited time available for education.

Not only are nations priorities different, but so are students. The need for each student differ according to their learning abilities and thus may make foreign language learning seem near impossible. For instance, a science prodigy who may go on to cure COVID-19 has to be focused solely on research on pathology at a certain level of education. For every time spent learning a language there is a chance that something else is not being mastered in the field of pathology.

Almost no one thinks that having knowledge of a variety languages is bad, besides it would give a good global outlook. However, making it a prerequisite in every nation, at every level of education is absurd. The needs of different individuals vary as well the needs of nations, foreign language study can truly be beneficial to those who partake but there are a lot of reasons not to make it compulsory.