The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues that WWAC radio station have to change to a news and talk format to reserve a decline in listener numbers. This argument seems plausible because the author shows some apparently compelling examples and data to strengthen his/her assertion. However, this claim is rife with holes and assumptions, not thus, strong enough to lead the radio station to introducing a new, different format.

First, the author assumes that the population growth in their listening area are very influential for the decreasing listener numbers. The fact that reduced listener numbers in spite of the entire population growth may be a serious problem to the manager of WWAC radio station. However, we do not know how much the number of grown population is. If the increased number of population has a low proportion of the entire living people, this issue may be insignificant or temporary. Besides, the author did not provide any detailed information about the percentage of retirees in people moving the area. The author is strongly recommended to give us more specific data related to the population change to strengthen his/her assertion.

Second, the author presumes that a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music guarantees the limited interest in music. However, we cannot be able to determine that the listeners are not interested in music because other factors needed to be considered are remained. First, whether the total sales of recorded music is clearly in fact some preferred music genres from those new residents such as folk song or traditional music may be increasingly popular in that region. In this case, WWAC may need to introduce just another music format, not an totally different program. Furthermore, many people in now have consumed the music by online streaming service or have bought a CD by online shopping, not in a local music store. In summary, the author have to offer more specific evidence about the proclivity to music of the listeners such as reliable and representative survey, not just only one piece of puzzle.

Finally, the author suggests that the only way to increase listener numbers in WWAC is changing to a news and talk format, not ameliorating the extant music program. The author surprisingly did not give any related information that the new retirees from other regions prefer music to news. Nevertheless the news and talk format in radio have been popular in recent time, however, this phenomenon may be temporary because of political or social issues such as presidential election or scandals. The music program may be getting popular again after those issues are out of focus from people. Moreover, the decline in listener numbers may caused by the losing influence of radio, not from just a lacking of interesting formats in it. Most people in the world are in now using computer, TV, or smartphone, not radio, which is often considered as a relic to young people. In this circumstance, many radio station in South Korea have collaborated with the new platform like Youtube, Facebook, or their own application in smartphone. WWAC may also be beneficial to increasing listener numbers if they learned the example in South Korea. In sum, the author needs to provide more concrete evidence that changing format is really an effective solution or not.

In conclusion, the argument that introducing a news and talk format will increase the number of listeners in WWAC cannot be fully agreed with. The listeners are very important in radio stations because they are directly linked with the profit and influence of them. However, the author must offer more specific evidence about other possible solutions, changing population and their shifted preference to be evaluated his/her claim.