The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disag

Great scientists, artists and rulers will leave a long-lasting legacy, but why should a nation focus its efforts and money in building that legacy when it can just use those funds to make the life of its citizens better today? That is, after all, the ultimate goal of a nation. So which is the greater nation: The one which focuses on having a good present, or the one which focuses on building a better future?

Of course, the answer depends on how you define "greatness". It is a blurry term, and it will have different connotations for different people. A nation can be "great" if it's large, powerful and/or influential, or if it is generally pleasant to live in. Often these two traits intersect. After all, Ancient Rome was big, powerful, influential and mostly pleasant to live in. It is common sense that a nation should keep most of its citizens happy if it intends to last for a long time. However, is one of them more important than the other when it comes to greatness? I would argue that they are both equally important, but that in a world filled with nations ferociously competing among each other, power and influence are the standard measure of "greatness". Plus, history remembers the nations that made the most important achievements above all the others.

An oppressed citizen of the "great" Nazi Germany which made significant medical discoveries and managed to conquer a large amount of Europe would disagree, but ultimately this is a personal question: Which definition of "great" do you want to consider?