The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disag

The general welfare of the nation's people is definitely a better indication of the nation's greatness since the achievement of its rulers, artist or scientists are all a sample of the overall people and does not give us the understanding of the nation's people.

As we know that these prizes cannot quantify the welfare of the whole nation. The nation's people are the ones who are looking for basic welfare which is a necessity for all the people such as medical, financial and economical condition. We have known that the people of the country need to sustain life with these necessities and if the people are able to give their family these necessities then one can assume that the nation's greatness.

There are instances in my own country India where is the case that the scientist and rulers are doing great in the eyes of other countries whereas the people of the country are challenged by the basic necessities such as food, shelter, and electricity. Additionally, the families who have young children are unable to find employment for there children and thus are dependent on their parents.

Thus such an instance prove to show the opposite of that few people doing great for the nation cannot justify the whole nation for its greatness. The greatness of the people can be measured by the people and for the people.