A good decision is the one which takes into account its future consequences more than its present benefits

At a certain point in life, we all have to make decisions which are crucial for our well-being or future. As humans, we are all bound to make decisions which allow us to lead a happy life in the present as well as the future. But, in certain cases, there are decisions which need to be taken holding into account the consequences that it might yield, rather than the present benefits it might bring.

"What you sow, so shall you reap." This is a classic apophthegm which has been repeated again and again to show us the connection between present actions and consequences. A good decision always makes sure that the consequences are what we want despite the present action that we have to take for the outcome. In our day to day life, there are many small decisions that we have to take which makes us think about the consequences. In some cases, the short-term consequences might be more important rather than the long-term consequences, while in some other cases, vice versa might be important. In some cases, both short-term and long-term consequences should be considered before taking a decision.

In cases of big organisations, such as multinational companies or even countries, a good decision needs to consider the present benefits as well as future consequences because it involves the well being of a large number of people. Only looking at the future consequences might not be enough if a multitude of people is going to participate in working for the outcome. The present benefits or short-term goals also need to be considered in such cases so as to motivate the participants to reach the final goal. Such decisions need to be all-inclusive.

In some cases, such as small decisions which need to be achieved quickly with a small number of people, future consequences could be given more weight as to present benefits. When the goal which needs to be achieved is clear and understood, it could be achieved sooner and the present benefits might not last as long as the final outcome of a decision. For example, in a group of young people who work together for a particular submission or assignments, present benefits don't count as much as the future consequence as the final outcome is more important than the process of how it was achieved.