Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Innovation and the technological advancements are reason for the shape of the world as we know it today. For any scientist or an engineer they can only come up with new innovations if they are given the liberty and resources to explore. And in any new innovation the research has a vital role to play because during this phase is when one would know and understand the limitations, boundaries, applications and implications of their idea. Research usually takes up lot of resources either in the way of time or money or even the knowledgeable people available to accomplish the task. It would be more practical if a governments or wealthy organizations can fund these research and aid to the prosperity of our technological advancement.

First of all, as mentioned earlier governments or wealthy organizations would be the ideal supporters for any research considering the logistics involved in it. Having said this it brings the question of what kind of projects or researches should be funded. When it’s a private organization they can proceed as they please as it’s their money. However in the case of government funded researches they have to be very cautions while supporting these researches financially as the funds of the government are mostly the tax payers hard earned dime.

Second of all, if this policy is implemented there could be two benefits right away which are primarily we can keep a tab on the dead ended or life endangering researches. This would directly save the resources and additionally the urge to come up with ideas and possibilities that would help in the betterment of common man would increase in the scientific community who intend to receive the government aid.

Third of all, It is not implied in any way that the researches should be avoided. It is only said that before funding a research with the money of the common folk it would be best if more scrutiny is done on the validity of the idea and the consequences it has, not just economically but also how it impacts a regular household.

In conclusion the research and innovation must be encouraged but we need to be more responsible with the resources we use as any resources misused for a wrong project would ultimately mean lesser resources available for the much need one.