If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Many people are ambitious and have goals that they would like to achieve, some long-term and other goals short-term. A question that many people have to ask themselves is: What they are willing to do in order to accomplish their goal or goals? I will describe two reasons on why I mostly agree with the idea that people should use any means possible to attain a goal.

To begin, more often than not, a worthy goal, is a goal that breaks some type of limit or barrier. Take for example, the civil rights movement in the United States. The proponents of the civil rights movement had many goals in mind, such as, outlawing segregation, voting rights for everyone, and changing the overall perception of African Americans in the United States. The goals of the civil rights movement are worthy goals, because the purpose of the movement was to break social color barriers and laws in the United States. Such laws and social practices were unjust, uncivil, and often times inhumane, and were worth being set right by any means possible.

A worthy goal is also a goal that inspires others to set goals for themselves. The United States landing on the moon is such a goal. Not only did landing on the moon inspire future scientists, but it also inspired others around the world to aim for goals that seem unattainable at first. Goals like landing on the moon should be attained by any means.

However, goals that aim to do harm, sabotage, or belittle others should not be achieved by any means. Hitler’s goal of exterminating Jews is such a goal that nations around the world aimed to stop once the Holocaust came to light. I agree that there are those in the world that wish to do harm to others, and should be stopped. And hopefully, once those who realize that their goals can cause harm, will choose not to pursue the goals, or seek an alternative so as to not cause harm.

It is true, that not everyone has righteous goals that they think are worthy of pursuing and accomplishing. And thus, they should not use any means needed to accomplish those ill willed goals. However, when such goals are pursued, then those who aim to stop malice goals should use any means needed to prevent wrong doing from happening. I often agree that those with goals should use any means to attain the goals, and when said goals are inhumane, then believe that the goals should not be pursued or an alternative goal should be sought to complete.