If rituals did not exist, we would have to invent them. We need ceremonies and rituals to help us define ourselves socially and culturally.

Rituals are the defining element of the identity of a group of people. Performing rituals aim mainly at delivering a certain concept or a specific idea. Therefore, performing rituals is vial for a better understanding of not only ourselves but also our purpose in this world. Thus, I mostly agree with the statement regarding the significance of rituals and religious ceremonies because of the following three reasons:

Firstly, rituals cannot be invented simply by practitioners just because its intentions are ambiguous, especially, these sort of ceremonies that require human sacrifice. For instance, there was a disguised ceremonial event aiming at the sacrifice of children, after decades, it was discovered that the designer of this ritual was a doctor and all the sacrificed children had their organs sold. Thus, humans generally are too untrustworthy to be responsible for creating something critical such as rituals. Their personal desires will definitely have a great influence on their ideas and actions.

Secondly, religious rituals, that were originated from bygone religions, particularly Judaism, Christianity and Islam, which have the greatest popularity in our world, serve as a purge of hearts of any unwanted feelings. For example, the pilgrimage season in Islam directs Muslims to do some rituals such as fasting, charity and praying. Each one of these rituals have a meaning that is inflicted directly into the heart of the worshipper. Fasting gives us an idea about every day’s life of the poor, so we can later feel them and be gentler with them. Charity teaches us to give those, whom are in need. Because life is always interchanging, the strong should aid the weak. Praying is asking the God for our desires, it is about submission and surrender to the creator, that inspires an eternal peace in the heart of the worshipper.

Finally, religious ceremonies are unique to each community. For instance, the middle eastern society, who its majority is Islam, has some unique characteristics, such as the unconditional respect of women, which arose precisely from Islam. It is noticeable in Gulf countries, that women have special privileges, they have the priority in shopping, parking, driving and even governmental bodies dedicate special places for women. On the other hand, a community that worships a cow or a monkey, will have a different influence. Certainly, the animal will be more protected and holy.

All in all, inventing rituals are not of our responsibility, rituals shall be flawless and when it is made by man it becomes vulnerable to mistakes. However, rituals are essential part of any society. It defines ethics, behaviors, identity and allows a better understanding of the purpose of humans. Thus, rituals’ importance cannot be questioned, yet it is too complex and sensitive to give a decisive answer to this matter.