ISSUE 9

In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author asserts that new contributions are grounding in past achievements. Admittedly, the values past achievements embody might not be synchronized with newly emerging needs and desires of people. However, contributions of past works influence new works in implicit and indirect way I think that new significant contributions are always influenced by past works even though the value structures of both are different.

Past achievements might entail outdated values that are not necessarily advantageous in the current context because what people value and care changes as time goes by. For example, a smart phone, totally different from the previous from of phone, is invented in the new technological context around 20s. Before smart phones, People used to bring folder phones whose only functions are making calls and sending text-messages. In fact, the researches and developmental know-hows of old version of phones became useless in this new context, since the main focus of new smart phones is the connectability to internet that can never be found in the previous context. The past works and efforts made on the old version of phone might seem to be irrelevant to the new invention of smart phone, as they had nothing to do with internet.

However, past achievements have indirect contributions on new achievements even when the embodied value differs from the new one. If the previous example mentioned above is examined thoroughly, it can be found that technological knowledge on previous phone models that investigated the way to shrink the entire size of the phone paved a way to the development of current phone’s internet usage. Even though the shrinking technology did not directly contribute to the main feature of smartphone, providing internet service, it can indirectly help this new development in a way that they enabled increased size of a screen so that people can browse internet with their phone more conveniently. In fact, knowledge has been accumulated in a collective way and have lots of potentials that can bring unexpected contributions. We can find another example in physics. One of greatest scientific achievements in modern history, Einstein’ theory of relativity is also based on the Newton’s law of gravity.. Although the relative theory revealed that the Newton’s previous achievement had some flaws, this would not exist at all if there were not Newton's past work.

It seems true that, values of past achievements might be outdated and does not make noticeable impacts on new contributions. Nevertheless, the knowledge built in the past achievements influenced new inventions in indirect or implicit ways. In conclusion, I agree with the statement in that any knowledge established in the past days can bring unexpected values.