Issue Topic

Claim: Restaurants should be required to display nutritional information about the food they serve.

Reason: This knowledge will help diners make healthy choices and reduce their risk of diet-related health problems.

food makes up an essential part of our lives. Not only does food pertain cultural significance to many, it also supplies nutrients to ensure our bodies can perform activities, grow, and repair properly. There are many diseases associated with the improper intake of food, such as the emergent epidemic of obesity in north america, with over 60% of Americans being over-weight or obese. In order for consumers to make informed choices and reduce the risk of diet-related health concerns, it is imperative for restaurants to disclose the nutritional values of the food they serves.

First, if restaurants supplied their clients with nutritional information, the clients would be more likely to receive proper nutrition. Partially due to the negligence on health education in our education system, people often lack knowledge on the nutritional values of food. despite having heard of the saying that vegetables and fruits are rich in vitamins, many of us have not investigated on the type and amount of nutrients each produce contains. For instance, one might opt for a bowl of Caesar salad as a health boost, but does not know the fact that romaine lettuce provides negligible nutritional value other than fiber, whereas kale is extremely rich in minerals and vitamins. Not intaking enough vitamins or minerals over a prolonged period of time might result in amnesia and dementia. despite being conscious of their well-being and orders food marketed as “healthy”, customers cannot ensure that they have ingested the necessary nutrients, unless they have access to the nutritional values of the food.

Furthermore, informing the customers on the nutritional values also assures that they are aware of the nutrients that might cause deleterious effects, thus ingest food with these nutrients in moderation. For example, the consumption of trans-fat or saturated fat is one of the consequential factors of arteriolar diseases. On the other hand, unsaturated fat has been proved to reduce the risk of arteriolar conditions. From the point of view of a customer, it is not always easy to tell if the oil in a dish is avocado oil, an unsaturated fat, or margarine, which contains trans-fat. Without revealing the nutritional data to consumers, consumers might order a dish that they assumed was healthy, only to unexpectedly receive food detrimental to their well-being.

many might argue that the disclosure of nutritional values would instigate the obsession with calorie counting, which contributes to eating disorders. While it is impossible to definitely disapprove the assertion that people who struggle with eating disorders like anorexia often started with unhealthy habits like calorie counting, it is important to note that being health conscious is not equivalent to having an unrealistic body size goal. In fact, learning about nutrition could help people comprehend that carbohydrate, protein, and fat are all necessary for daily intake, and that it is not healthy to avoid carbohydrate or fat to achieve a slimmer body. The understanding that ingesting a proper amount of food is not only acceptable, but also essential to maintain one’s well-being will in turn help people in building a healthy view on food and their bodies.

In conclusion, in order to ensure that consumers receive proper nutrition and to decrease the incidents of dietary health problems, restaurants shall display the nutritional information regarding their food. obesity, the rising epidemic in north america, could be ameliorated by introducing a policy that requires restaurants to properly inform consumers of their diet.