It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Compromise is an art of life. Such is some people’s suggestion. Since no one could always get their ways, they said, without the acknowledgement of the necessity of compromise once in a while, one could become very frustrated, frequently bearing a feeling of defeat. This group of voice goes on to suggest that it is the very myth that insistence on one’s belief is invaluable that leads to incredible high rates of depression in modern society, for people who are ignorant about the importance of compromises are harmed by adhering to inflexible approaches of beliefs. This author, however, could not agree with such line of thinking and would rather insist that it is surely healthier for every individual to adhere to their beliefs to the end. Moreover, this attitude would not only benefit the individual who keeps their beliefs, but also others around them.

First of all, one’s belief defines one’s identity. To compromise under several difficult circumstances may seem understandable, and may even be deemed as a gesture of flexibility. However, only the one who makes such decision could sense the feeling of self-betrayal, which secretly sabotages the foundations of their words and deeds, that is, the identities that determine them who they are. By compromising over and over again, one would gradually lose their perceptions of meanings and principles, and losing which is, recognized by many psychological professionals, one of the greatest causes of depression.

Furthermore, one’s very beliefs contributes to one’s community’s beliefs. That is to say, what kind of values define a community is decided by what kind of values define each and every member of that community. Hence, a society with members, instead of being determined to insist on what they regard as right and just, ready to compromise whenever feeling the need to do so could see real harms happen interpersonally and profoundly in society, from compromising to domestic abuses, to working-place sexual harassments, to government corruption, and to many other social issues.

As a result, compromising is not some little matter that only harms an individual’s feeling. As time goes by, such behavior could be devastating not only to the one who does so, but to the society they belong to as a whole. In conclusion, the statement that compromise is no harmful and thus legitimate is in reality no just superficial but actually detrimental. The world needs more people who are willing to adhere to their beliefs and are doing so for themselves as well as every other person in the same society.