It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Humans can never live by themselves. The interaction between us is the very essence that distinguishes us from the natural animals and thus can explain to some extent, about our traits. Nonetheless, not all our behaviors are comprehensible by the gatherings we are attached with, and this is explicit to the salient beings of each group.

Admittedly, assessment of humans without the consideration for the social groups they are included is difficult. Humans are social animals and thus cannot be detached from social groups. Also, in many cases, the groups that we participate in presents some of our essential characteristics. For example, when people engage with each other, they often ask questions about schools, work, or even families. By acquiring these background information, one can evaluate others: if one participates in a Sunday football league, it will clearly present that he likes outdoor activities and sports, enabling to conclude him as outgoing. Hence, a group of people that humans engage may show the outline of the individual.

Nevertheless, humans possess free will and act as individuals while still conforming to the social standards. Within the boundaries set by the government, corporation or any community, one's action is decided by themselves. Employers can set goals for each employee but it can not decide how to reach them since it is up to the worker and their style of working: one can do it for a prolonged time, or others will be wanting to finish it in a hurry. Consequently, the group of people that a person associates with will not be enough to portray the qualities of that person.

Moreover, people who acquiesce to the society will not be able to outstand over others. Since a community consist of similar people, to be salient, one should be able to act differently. For instance, a modest and hard-working student will hardly be remembered after graduation in a public school because those types of students are so platitudinous. In contrast, a student with a good sense of humor that presents facetious actions to enlighten the class will be a memory that is reminisced throughout the teacher's career. Therefore, the society that we participate in cannot determine the traits of every individual, not to mention the people who are conspicuous in their groups.

In conclusion, although a coarse image of a person can be delineated by the communities that incorporate the person, it is not enough to show the full characteristics. In addition, outstanding people's behaviors are exclusive to be defined by the society.