Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold

true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Laws are implemented for the effective functioning of society and the nation as a whole. A government while putting forth a law must take various factors into account. Naturally, this is not an easy task and there will be some degree of criticism even if the law appeals to the majority of the citizens as everyone is entitled to their opinions. The government should, therefore, be able to maintain a balance between satisfying its people as well as cater to the efficient functioning of the nation. Some degree of flexibility is required in order to maintain this equilibrium. But, if the law becomes overly flexible, it can lose its authority which can jeopardize the administration.

For example, Town X has high rates of illiteracy among its youth and this is primarily due to the fact that a significant number of families are underprivileged and cannot afford a good education. To combat this, the government can make reservations for the underprivileged to attend public or private schools. These reservations can include minimal tuition fee and a less stringent admission process. This will greatly increase the access to good education for impoverished children and the overall competition will be high which will benefit Town X in the long run. The quotas, reservations, and grants provided for the poor children should be decided based on the town's financial situation and the government should not run the risk of making the town insolvent in a desperate attempt to increase its literacy rate to enhance its national image and outlook.

On the contrary, citing the success of Town X after passing the law, if the nation makes this law mandatory across all its states, it can have mixed results. If Town Y is financially sound and the majority of the people are well above the poverty line, it doesn't make sense to reserve a large number of seats for children of the poor if there are barely any who qualify for it. This can affect the other kids who could have been admitted otherwise. The schools will also lose revenue by admitting only a limited amount of kids. If there is no need for such a law, it needn't be implemented in the first place or the education law should be altered depending on a specific state's circumstances.

In conclusion, I do believe that laws should be flexible but to a certain degree and should be adjusted to the circumstances, times and places. If not, there can be implications if the law

is too rigid or too flexible as explained above.