The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

The statement contends that the main advantage to study history is to clear away the thought that people living now are different from the people who lived in the past. I argue against this statement as I strongly urge that there are multiple other advantages of studying history than to differentiate people living now than with the people living in the past.

History is studied to understand how people used to live in the past and how we can adapt their lifestyles in a way which can benefit the society now.History is studied to understand where we came from, what chronological events happened in the past which shaped our present to be as it is now.

In India, one of the major reasons to study history is to value their cultures and beliefs. There, history is studied to understand the value sacrifices made by their ancestors to gain independence. Their beliefs in non violence and their sacrifices for their country, their unity to fight against the Britishers. This is the reason for their study of history rather than comparing the people now with those living in the earlier times.

Also the benefit of studying history is to evolve ourselves by not making the same mistakes as did by our antecedents. Also history is studied to gain advantages of our past civilizations and to learn from it. For example, in Spain, their architecture is completely different from other countries of the world, and their buildings are engineered by learning the engineering of the buildings made by their ancestors and evolving upon them, hence having one of the most remarkable architectural buildings of the world.

Also, change is a natural process. There has been changes in people’s thoughts, beliefs, cultures motives and many more of such characteristics. People right now are quite different from the people in the past as we have learned their mistakes and have evolved from them. Also with industrialization and science moving forward, people have changed now than from previous eras.

Thus, I disagree with the above statement that the main benefit to study history is to dispel this illusion that people now have different lives than people in the past times, as I think there are various different aspects to study history.