The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In this statement the author claims that the main benefit of studying history is to disabuse the idea that nowadays people are significantly different from people who lived in the past. Surely this represents one of the benefits that studying history can give to whoever studies it. However, I think that it is not the most important one and that is why I don’t agree with the author’s declaration.

Firstly, I would like to focus on what I consider to be the most important lesson we can get from history. Learning about the history and the development of different countries was not only about enlarging our knowledge with new information. All the different wars, conflicts, birth of and changes in societies, are to be seen as a lesson from which we have to learn. By studying how some particular actions, political changes, beliefs, precipitated into conflicts and wars, we can have a great example of what had to be avoided, modified or controlled, in order to avoid these events from happening in the future.

For example, let’s think of World War II, probably the most known and studied war of all times. By focusing on what caused it, and most importantly on how some particular events led to the catastrophic consequences we all know, we can learn how to avoid them. Analyzing how Hitler was able to gain all his fame and control over Germany, and especially the “tools” he used to accomplish his goal, can help us understand possible red flags of upcoming nationalism.

On the other hand, the difference between living in our present, globalized world rather than in a distant era can lead people to think that people changed dramatically. History can surely show us that mankind has always been driven from the same motifs and desires, no matter which historical period it lived in.

In conclusion I would say that even though history can give us a greater insight on how people from earlier historic periods didn’t differ that much from us, it doesn’t represent the most important benefit: learning from our past mistakes.