A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

In most developing countries, children born to a lower socio-economic class are at a disavantage. With only enough money to attend public schools, they are not exposed to the same teachings as their counterparts in higher socio-economic classes, able to afford private instiutions. I argue that every child, regardless of social or economic background be given the opportunity to reach their full potential.

A national curriculum would help to ensure that this statement is true. It allows these children, born at a disadantage, the opportunity to take charge of their education and their learning. An even playing field is set, they are no longer held hostage by their background.

Take Jack for example, from a very young age, he had shown signs of being a math prodige. Jack's principal had advised Jack's parents to send him to a private institution where his talents could be further developed. However, Jack's parents could barely afford public school. A decision was made to keep Jack in public school. Regardless of the fact that, he was working at the same level as students 2 grades ahead of him. Jack experienced a diservice, just because of the background he was born into.

Some might argue that a national curriculum could possibly be detrimental to gifted children (children born with higher IQ's and capabilities). By forcing them to learn at the same pace as their classmates, these children are being hindered from tapping into their gifts. I argue that that is a misleading conclusion, the national curriculum would only allow many more children the opportunity to tap into their gifts.