Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement presented is little too extreme. Denying funding for arts completely will result in stagnation of growth of new artists. Art is an integral part of any society and culture therefore it is necessary that government should consider rationing some funding for growth of art and artists as well. It is true that when people are hungry and unemployed directing all the resources to their welfare makes more sense. But for any country suffering from such circumstances, maintaining a good balance in fulfilling its citizens need and appreciating the homegrown talent are of tantamount importance. Several reasons can be provided to support puporting such approach.

To begin with, the need of the citizens is of the utmost importance for any country especially when there is dearth of consitent meals and basic living facilities like job and home. But it is not viable for any nation to allocate the expenses aimed only to alleviate these problems. All governments keep this in mind while rationing their budgets. Giving equitable opportunity is the prime goal here. Expenses have to be divided to ensure national security, education, law enforcement, sports, global recogniztion and arts as well, and these are only a few of the complete list. Growth is significant when each and every one is able to grow.

Additionally, arts can also prove to be a significant source of income. Many roman, greek and chinese cities still attract a lot of international tourists who like to be mesmerized by the art incorporated and preserved in buildings and mueseums of these cities. And only the welfare of citizen of any country does not warrant the recognition on global level, take for example the middle east countries. Because of their natural resources the citizens of these countries live in affluent conditions but these countries are not idealized by any nation. Instead the country which has dexterously managed to improve its wealth as well as skills like Germany, England, China and United States are idealized by other nations.

Moreover, the combination that provides and gurantees that as long as possible, people's needs will be considered first and then an impartial funding will be provided to the developement of skills in field of art sounds way more solid as compared to the statement present.

However, certain extreme circumstance like femine, war and natural disastours are an expection. Countries facing such difficult situations can consider denying funding for any cause that might seem prodigal in such situations.

Conclusively, it is good to have not major but some amount of resources allocated to upbringing the talent residing in any country.