Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In times of economic stability, the value of the arts is rarely seen as superfluous. When money is readily available, the demand for the arts is readily met with government funding – in fact, artistic revolutions often flourished hand in hand with cultural and economic prosperity. However, times of fiscal depression are often just around the corner, and when they arrive, government funding may be stretched tightly. During these times, the government should suspend this funding – no matter arts’ inherent worth to culture – and supplant it with support for the hungry and struggling membe...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.