Politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In the democratic society, a successful politician will not have political power without a significant agreement from the people. The only way to get acceptance from the people is tolerating opposing idea and seeking reasonable consensus. The prompt also addresses that pursuing common ground is preferable than pursuing elusive ideals. We cannot rule out all elusive ideals because they are difficult to comprehend. From my perspective, politicians should share a common ground with people, but we must also consider a politician's view carefully to discern a good from a bad one.

First of all, a politician should know how to compromise with the people. From the young age, everyone learned how to compromise with our parents in one way or another. For instance, a child agrees to clean the room in return for a TV time. The child wants something from the parents, therefore yields to the parents' term and does what the parents require first. When a politician addresses a law or policy that requires contributions from the people, he or she should listen to people's and provide a reasonable agreement. If the politician wants to increase tax to build a public school or hospital, one should make a promise that the money used for such purpose in order to serve the people. It is the meaning of compromise: to give in order to get what one wants.

Secondly, elusive ideals from intransigent politicians could go wrong if left inconsiderate. Take, for example, the military dictatorship Adolf Hitler went out of ordinary to pursue his own ideal: conquer the world. One might argue that he did it for his nation and got support from his own people. However, in the crisis of Germany economy, instead of pursuing common ground, cooperating with other nations, Fuhrer suppressed any opposing view and forced the nation into a war to achieve his own ambition. This backfires, where he killed himself under own his failure and the war devastated the entire nations and every nations follows his fascism. The reason for his defeat is because his elusive ideals serve only his purpose and cause harm to all others.

However, there are still exceptions where an elusive ideal with a justified cause thrives. One famous example is president Abraham Lincoln. He had a lofty goal, to bring equality to all human being. The goal at the contemporary time was objected by the majority of people, to free the slaves, who related directly to a person's possession and wealth. Nevertheless, his Emancipation Proclamation was proven to be a successful movement, because it promotes human rights -- a noble cause.

In conclusion, a politician should obviously reach a common ground and reasonable consensus with the people. But, elusive ideals should not always be seen as unreasonable, because a politician with a view of a bigger picture and a justified cause can change the society into a better civilization.