''Question Authority. Only by questioning accepted wisdom can we advance our understanding of the world.''

Questioning authority has two way consequences according to conditions of society . Though, sometimes, environment so suitable that it brings positive drawbacks, to some extent, it results in chaos and division within society. In my opinion, questioning authority always develops a different point of view and enlightens societies.

Firstly, authority designs an order for society. They do not want people to interrupt the process or do not want to people to be too much knowledgeable about their rights since then, people may rise up their voices against employees or system. For example, in 1991, Turkish small community of workers had decided to unite and required an official union to defend their rights. This suggestion made authority to get angry and took harsh precautions against this small community. At the end, this community became more crowded and after process of discussions, government provided an official unity for workers which represents and delivers their requirements. Hence, authority tries to shape people in a profitable and easy way, the more people deliberate on and fight for their rights, the more authority gets uncomfortable.

Secondly, accepted wisdom here refers to accepted morals, phenomenons. People are taught in some traditions and values, most of them are scared to break or dispute these. However, developed societies has always thinking and questioning minds, this find inefficiency or unfairness in the system. For example, Ataturk made a revolution in favor of women, in order to make them able to vote. Before that, only men can vote and women were not seen as capable of choosing their leader as an individual. If everyone had kept this pattern, maybe we still have same rules. So functioning properly does not mean functioning wisely.

On the other hand, questioning environment can cause chaos, mistrust in society for a while. This can create to polarized group so that it can damage unity. For example, In Egypt, actions against Mubareq has created internal strife within country.

To sum up, questioning authority has two way drawbacks, sometimes benefits of one exceed benefits of other one. Hence, it is worth to take risk after doing some analysis.