Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Research and innovation have been the building blocks in development of humanity. The impact the innovation does on the people plays an important role in motivating the researchers. The prompt says that innovators should focus on domains that affects maximum people. In my opninion, I strongly agree with this for three reasons.

To begin with, research is a funded program and needs capital to sustain. For example, the medical research team working towards development of a cure, needs insane amount of time and money to perform adequate research.The fact that cancer is prevalent across the globe and the cure may have a substantial demand may cause an influx of funding. Had cancer been a less potent and regional disease, then the research wouldn't have received the required monetary assistance. The cure would benefit a number of people which plays an important role in getting the required assistance. The above example illustrates how the impact of the research indirectly affects the course of research in the first place.

Further, considering the number of issues present in the world, it's veritable to focus on such problems. During the early 20th century, scientists were busy in inventing a cure for spanish flu as millions of people were dying. It was the need of the hour. Morally, one would work towards saving as many people as possible from the pandemic. One would be deemed morally corrupt to work on an animal experiment while millions are losing their lives. Many doctors, scientists worked together tirelessly to create a vaccine which saved millions of lives. The global impact the cure had gigantic compared to any noteworthy outcome from an animal experiment.

Further, the research that involves more people provides helps researchers and innovators to earn sumptuously. For example, the language translation application has been widely used across the world to translate one language to their native one. This is used by people who travel different countries as tourists, for business travel, etc. The more the usage of the application, the more is the income for the creators. Had the application been limited to translate just spanish to english. It wouldn't be that catholic and would not provide the creators the due credit they deserve.

One might argue that, the risks involved while benefiting larger set of people is high, but no research till date has been successful without taking risks, be it human trials for vaccine, or sending satellites in space. Everything involves risk, but the impact the outcome will have on the people is definitely worth more than the risk.