Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

I, to a greater extent, agree with the latter part of the sentence which claims that the only responsibility of corporation is to make money (provided they operate within law). I would like to enumerate my viewpoints and opinions on the same in the following paragraph.

We might have, more often than not, heard this saying - "Money is always ultimate" - from people, friends or movies. And it has been a pretty established fact by now that humans are greedy; obviously not all, but more like a generalized statement. The corporation too, is filled with normal human beings and is run by these people. Yes, they definitely have an objective and that is to promote the well-being of the societies and environment in which they operate. But, try asking anyone in and around your society the question - Are you satisfied with the working of our corporation? Many would disagree with this without thinking twice. The fact that people answer this question without much deliberation clearly sums it up. Let's make it more evident with an example. When I was walking down the road one evening, I saw a dead dog lying right in the middle of a road. I was nonplussed facing the situation but soon realized it is the corporation of the town I should be contacting. When I did so, they gave me a vague answer at first as to why they can not make it and then a few seconds later, the person from corporation audaciously told "It is a Sunday, we will not come". I was shocked at this response. With all due respect to people taking off from work on certain days, was the response I got from corporation just?

I am sure this is not just the case with me, but all of those people who would be dismissing the claims about corporation doing justice to their work would have at least one such story to back them up. The same template of corporation can be extended to the government of a state as well, where they resort to dirty politics to make huge sums of money. The MLAs of Tamil Nadu were once caught in a resort with trucks filled with black money is the outskirts when there was a stringent check inside the city. These are real life examples which I have encountered and to imagine the population of my nation, it is no more a worry, but makes me feel scared. It is high time that these people in corporation realize their importance and role they ought to play for the betterment of society.

I am not outright blaming everyone; there are some who would go to any extent to make their society a better place to live. And if there are more such people, the environment and society will only prosper. Instead, most of these who constitute the major part of corporation body succumb to cupidity and blaming human nature in their defense. I would like to conclude by saying that, as much as everyone quotes "Money is always ultimate", there is more to life and money, at the end of the day, can not get everything that one wishes for.