Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

We live in the 21st century. The world is running behind money and comforts. It is easy to get caught in the rat race and go with the principles of the society. Thinking independently to create models of our own futures can be a demanding task. Education is something that shapes a students life. The things that children learn in the classroom, stay with them throughout their lives. Todays schools are more inclined towards a logical education, more than moral education and our society is far from perfect. I believe education should be wholesome and there is a need for both moral education and logical reasoning for the overall development of a child with morality as the base of education.

In the ancient Indian education system or the Gurukula system, value education is symbolised by the roots of a tree and logical reasoning to be the stem. Both are equally important in its own perspectives and this type of education is considered as one of the best forms of it. In today's world, there are a lot of obstacles that one might encounter through their courses of life. Dealing with these obstacles can be difficult, logical reasoning might not be sufficient enough to get them through these situations. Take the case of a thief who stole food because he had no money to help feed his family. If logical education was to come into play, it doesn't have to deal with the emotional part of it and a crime will be treated as a crime. But this might not be the best decision to take and this is when moral values come into play. Sometimes it is best to be kind and humane rather than taking logical decisions. So definitely a moral society cannot be formed by giving the foundation of education as logical reasoning.

A society needs to live in peace and harmony and that is what ultimately leads to a prosperous nation. Without moral education being the base of the system, I believe a moral society can never flourish. Some might argue that the world is getting more and more difficult to live in and competent, so more time should be given to logical reasoning than morality. The case is true that the world demands more knowledgeable people with industrial skills more than ever. But there is a lot more than just industrial skills, it should have a balance. Leading a family and continuing the human race need values to be followed. Logic will not help a person when he is in a state of depression.

Rounding up the points and shedding light on the wholesome development of students, with strong conviction, I believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education and logical reasoning should be built upon these morales. To be a good human being, you need not be a logical expert, and he world does not need logical experts who are not humane beings. So I align with the position the teaching morality as the foundation and logical reasoning on top of that is the best way to create wholesome individuals.