Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement that students should always question everything that they’re taught is one that can be ambiguous and difficult to answer. We think that the school system is set up to manage a curriculum that is irrefutable, but as we know old ideas have to be challenged if they are to sustain their relevancy throughout time. I mostly agree with the stated assumption.

To begin with, in some cases or fields to challenge everything that has been established can be quixotic at best. That is to say subjects that have held true through many tests and applications should not be subjected to questioning. For instance, mathematics is a field that has been proven to be true no matter how many flaws we try to find. Two plus two will always equal four here or in Mars this holds water. In circumstances like this it is not a sagacious choice to question a cemented field. An apocryphal outlook should be avoided and time should be dedicated to newer theories.

However, for the most part things being taught must be challenged to some degree. This in return helps the student gain a bigger understanding of the subject. What better way than to try and replicate the exact result or disprove it. For instance, during the early stages of science we thought we were the center of the universe until Copernicus started to question this fallacy. In return he opened pandora’s box and influenced other people to seek more information. Ultimately, which led to the discovery that we are not indeed the center of the universe. This is one key aspect in which we can see how conducive questioning everything can be and lead us out of the darkness. Curiosity is one of the biggest drivers for innovation and exploration of the truth.

Furthermore, it has been shown more than not that to question certain subjects can be beneficial to humanity. Not accepting all things as they are taught down from student to student can lead us to bigger discoveries. For example, during the early 1900’s most physicists accepter Albert Einstein’s theory of relativity, which explains time and gravity as one. However, after decades of ignoring more questioning an astrophysicist Schrodinger started to not accept this as a universal truth. He was ridiculed for thinking for himself. A few years later thanks to him and other scientists quantum mechanics was born proving that Einstein’s theory was not universal and dismissed small objects such as sub-atomic particles. In the long run this new field improved our technology from computer chips to nuclear medicine. Again, this is one pristine example that can elucidate the importance of questioning newly established theories.

All in all, while a rational personal might agree that to question everything is important, that is not always true with fields that have irrefutably withstood the tests of time. On the other hand, it is important to doubt and challenge ideas that have not been tested throughout time.