The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In order for a nation to be perceived as a great nation, I believe that the nation should have succeeded in both providing general welfare to its people and also has many representative people. Neither one of them could exceed the other criterion's importance and I believe that each criterion actually bolsters the other criterion to be augmented. The reasons why I maintain such claim are written below with further details.

First of all, the general welfare of the people should be the basic necessity that needs to be solved with the most priority. If a nation has failed in providing general welfare to its people, all they would worry would be about dearth and how they would survive until next year. Getting better education or becoming a civilized person is a whole new concern that does not bother them in their current situation. The government would also be obsessed with in providing enough food and everyday products for the people to survive well. However, we all know that for a nation to become great, the people who leads the nation or has the power to alter the nation such as rulers, artists, and scientists needs to bloom. When the people's only concern is about lack of food and worrying about diseases that are not lethal but has the potential to easily take them away, how can those who are born to make the nation a better country pursue with their dreams? Furthermore, even if the nation has presented many great people such as rulers, artists, and scientists, if the general people are suffering from lack of welfare, to have such great people would be no use.

I would like to show an example of the Renaissance era. The Renaissance era is known to be the best era where all the people lived with great welfare and many celebrated people were presented. They prospered in art, science, and in politics. The reason the world were able to have an era like Renaissance was because the general welfare of the people and the power of the celebrated people in making the nation a better country were harmonized.

To sum up, either one of the criteria that indicates a nation as a great nation, achievement of its rulers, artists, or scientists, and the general welfare of its people, can be a surer indicator. Both of the criteria should be met in order for a nation to prosper.