The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers artists or scientists but by the general welfare of its people Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement a

There has never been a single collective metric to judge a country's progress. Statistical measures like GDP or Population Density often conceal the plight of the general public, despite boasting great statistical numbers. The prompt establishes a nation’s rulers, artists or scientists as an effective metric to judge a nation’s ‘collective’ progress. However, I seem to mostly disagree with the message being conveyed by the prompt, because of the following outlined reasons.

Firstly, with increasing population growth and thus due to the ever increasing versatile and dynamic nature of employment opportunities, it becomes tough to cherry-pick one or maybe two as the ones which are able to justify a nation’s progress as is. Even history provides unanimous examples to support this assertion. For instance, in medieval India, the rulers often used to keep the ‘artists’ & ‘scientists’ really close to their court. Despite the happiness and agreement of the scientists & artists with the ruler, the common people often used to be in a pitiable plight. This just establishes the fact that a country’s overall developmental growth has little to do with ‘only’ science or art or even the governance for that matter. This only lays more stress on governing & checking how the people who often stay away from these ‘lucrative’ job positions, make their ends meet. A collective summation of all the population of a region could thus serve as a better metric in order to judge a nation’s progress.

Furthermore, the prompt mentions ‘achievements’ by the rulers, scientists & artisans as the ideal measure as a good indicator of the quality of life of the commonplace. The rhetoric in itself looks flawed. If we want to take a deeper perspective, we could observe that there have been nations that have boasted about the spendings on their ‘defense’, ‘nuclear arsenal’ or even the quality of art they possess, but it hides the plight of the rest of the people that comprise of the ‘millions’ of people that reside in the nation. History has proven that countries that have asserted dominance in defense & nuclear warfare, take somewhat less than even an hour to turn into a ‘force’ that once existed. A good example to judge this could be the people of North Korea, a vigilant & strong armed force, the rulers leading from the front, but the people of the nation have absolutely no liberty to choose anything. Thus, it can be learned that the assumption that a nation that possesses dominant rulers or an expensive nuclear arsenal, is obviously a giant, fails to hold true quite often.

However, some people may argue and show statistics of how the ‘P5’ nations or even the ‘G7’ nations often look to bolster their ruler’s strengths or look to improve upon their existing measures of art & culture, and they are actually the dominant forces. But, if you consider these particular nations, they would also seem to lay ‘equal’ emphasis on other aspects like technology or renewable energy resources or even the scale of poverty.

Therefore, it could be established that a single metric on its own is insufficient to predict a country’s progress, but it is indeed a really convoluted process that statisticians and visionaries are still looking to predict. Thus, there need to be more scientifically backed studies & researches that could collectively include all possible parameters that may determine a nation’s progress accurately.