Technology does not deliver on its promise of making our lives easier.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

With the recent onslaught of new technology marketed aggressively to present day consumers, advertised to do seemingly underwhelming things like “dual side” calling whereby it gives the user the ability to talk into either end of a cellphone, it is easy to believe that the technological revolution has come to a stagnant point with no more real revolutionary ideas. It’s harder to see the technology that is not necessarily advertised to common consumers, in the realm of science and health, with very real and extraordinary promises of making human lives easier than it has ever been; that technology delivers on its promise of making our lives easier is an idea that I completely agree with.

Recently, in the realm of health, a way of applying scientific knowledge for the sole purpose of making our lives easier has been researched upon. Through a method of identifying cell-free RNA in the body of pregnant women, it can be identified whether the baby will be born prematurely. Premature babies are at risk for higher health risks that babies born at expected times, due to underdevelopment in many cases. Through this recent technological advancement, it is easier for doctors to identify mothers that will have a premature baby and be more prepared for the situation – in short, it makes the doctor’s and nurse’s lives easier while also ensuring less harm come to a baby born prematurely. In addition, as this method can also be used for identifying exactly when a baby will be born, it is a more cost effective alternative to sonograms, which are regularly used currently for the same purpose.

It is not necessary to try to identify current technology that makes human lives easier when there is so much to consider through delving into our past. The car, for example, is a technology that has made life vastly different. It’s entire purpose, in fact, is to make life easy by elimination of long, slow, tiring processes of getting from one place to another. Transportation was changed by the car, with people now being able to travel long distances. Transporting products and foods faster allowed for businesses to conduct their work in a more timely and easy fashion and simplified something as simple as travelling to and meeting far off friends and family. Technology has been changing our lives for the better through making it easier from the moment it was created.

Of course, there are certain cases where technology has not delivered on simplifying lives. Take the example of guns. Yes, it makes the morbid task of killing living things easier, but more than that, it has complicated situations among people – through moral and ethics and through laws. In America, take the recent cases of school shootings, which have complicated effects on, most obviously, the innocent people who have been killed. Guns certainly did not make their or their families lives easier – it caused the exact opposite result. Additionally, it has brought about tension between the NRA advocates and anti-NRA protesters, among a number of complications.

It is overall easy to agree that technology has made mankind what it is, with leaps of advancements and the overall goal to make lives easier. In the wrong hands, they can be grossly misused and make lives harder as well, but it cannot be argued that it has made the common man’s life easier than it was 100, 50, or even 10 years ago.