To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The statement states that for understanding the most important characteristics of a city, one must study its major cities.This statement is a contradictory one but the pros in favour of the statement outweigh the cons, hence i agree with the statement.

The statement talks about understanding the characteristics of a society. Cities are the essence of a society and understanding these cities give  a much clearer view of what the society looks like. Cities are where all the major development of a society is concentrated. All the major educational institutes, the major infrastructure developments,educaional and medical research, major hospitals, a major portion of the working class of a society, etc are situated in the city. Understanding these aspects give a much more clearer picture and help understanding of the city.

A city always gives a diverse population. As we all know, people from smaller towns migrate to cities in search for job, money or maybe even because of some other reason like education or some medical reason. This eventually leads to people from all parts of the society and people from all walks of life living together in harmony in the cities. Understanding these cities and is people, will lead to getting to know the society much more intimately.

Although, nowadays a majority of the cities have become cosmopolitan leading to generalization even though the cities consist of a very diverse group of people. This being stated, it is also believed that the true cultural heritage of a society will always be found in the small towns or villages where people lead a simpler life.

In conclusion, although the smaller towns and villages are where the cultural heritage is preserved, for truly understanding a city and for getting to know the most important characteristics of the society it is essential to study and get to know the cities