To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

The concept of cities has been around for a long time in human history. They have been essential to the growth of human beings as a species. Cities are areas where people can stay, eat, trade, work; and they play an important role in the economy of a country. A large part of the population in a country reside in or close to cities owing to many more activities take place in the city than outside it. Even though cities are the backbone of a country, they cannot be made to represent the entire country.

The characteristics of a city will not necessarily symbolize the characteristics of a country. A city can look prosperous and peaceful but it might not be true for the rest of the country. In North Korea, for example, The prosperous image of Pyongyang belies the suffering of the people in the rest of the country. Pyongyang may look affluent and the people there at least seem to be living in peace but the rest of the country has been suffering; most people are not even able to afford two meals a day. The sharp contrast between the city and the rest of the country is astonishing.

One might argue that the example of North Korea is just a unique case. Although it may be true that there are not many cases with such stark differences between cities and the country, there are key differences which need to be considered no matter which country is taken. India, for example, has prosperous cities like New Delhi, Bangalore, Chennai etc. where people live prosperous and peaceful lives. But a majority of the population in India is living in rural areas depending on agriculture for income. In fact, India's economy is significantly based on agriculture which clearly shows that a country's characteristics cannot be defined by the only by considering major cities.

A society is not only defined by its economy and prosperity, but also but its culture. Cities are places where many people from other countries come to make a living. These people bring their culture along with them, leading to a city which is culturally diverse. Even though the city is culturally diverse, we cannot label the country so; most of the people living outside the city follow their own culture. It would not be appropriate to label a country culturally diverse only based on the diversity of cities.

Cities accommodate a large population of people living in the country but it does not encompass all the people. It is to symbolize what the entire country hopes to be, not what the contry currently is. To understand the characteristics of a country, cities and the rest of the country has to be considered as a whole.