Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

University policies differ from pursuing interdisciplinary studies to circumscribing the students inside their own field of study. Which method would be more effective for education? It could be debatable but I think that letting students experience numerous fields of study is a better policy for universities.

To begin with, the importance of multidisciplinary perspectives is being emphasized by spotlighting a number of venerated celebrities outside of their primary field of study. For example, Jane Jacobs is one of the world’s most famous urban theorists in the 20th century. She was originally a journalist, but when she got interested in urban design theories, she could be a successful urban theorist with her capacity of multidisciplinary thinking. There are multiple more examples such as former German prime minister Angela Merkel, who was originally a physicist, and Dr. Ahn, who studied medical studies in the university and then became a famous software engineer in South Korea.

Furthermore, comprehension of other majors leads to a successful collaboration with other experts. Most of the occupations require to cooperate with other people; in most circumstances, the other people come from diverse educational backgrounds with different majors. With obscure understanding of other majors, we wouldn’t be able to effectively communicate with the colleagues and might excuse us for misunderstanding.

Of course, there can be some people argue that focusing on their field of study to grow the students’ expertise. On the other hand, I strongly claim that undergraduate studies need to be focused on building a capacity to think deeper and wider, rather than on growing expertise. To grow expertise, students can study further in graduate schools. But to think deeper and wider, the students need to take variety of classes including philosophy and humanities.

In conclusion, I believe that universities need to give attention to provide education of variety of fields. Because many famous features have shown the importance of interdisciplinary thoughts and it can lead to a better cooperation with others after graduation. Even though growing expertise is valued in higher education, for undergraduate level, taking various courses is more important.