When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

How to make sensible decision between modern development and ancient building conservation? From my perspective, urgent modern development should be taken precedence over conversation of old buildings, if losing chance to preserve the latter. However, this doesn't means that we should neglect our responsibility of conservation for historical relics. It's also worth to point out that those two are not mutually exclusive, as we can well balance them to guarantee our purpose of social progress.

To start off, if robust evidence proves that old buildings have little opportunities for further reservation and become major obstacles for our urgent demand, it is better to make higher priority with modern development and displace outmoded buildings without any hesitation. Since those archaic might occupy significant positions in the city, they might impede with our traffic regulation or expansion of city capacity. Furthermore, they might already be shabby or irreparable, whose existence not only obstruct with social development, but also accumulate huge risks for citizens' safety. In this sense, it is wise to sweep them out and get ready for our foreseen modern development. For example, during onset of Republic of China in 1949, the original Tian’anmen square was both noisome and dilapidated as result of long-time tolerance of wars. For preparation of celebration of new republic, a spate of citizens and soldiers got together and made great effort to do cleaning-ups and dismantled the existing relics on the square. Such laborious works have renewed this square and catered to the urgent demand of the new country.

However, tenable as the issue hold in aforementioned case that ancient buildings should be given way to modern development, I have to concede that in majority of cases we would prefer to protection of historical buildings out of their unique value and the ensuing potential benefits. First of all, except the non-reparation cases mentioned above, blindly eradicating the ancient building might cast inevitable losses for our society, as these remnants is a part of the history and can't restore anymore once removed from the ground. Moreover, conservation of those buildings might contribute to tourism and cultural education, which could lead to further improvement for modern development in the long term. To view an opposite case, we can no further go for destruction of mass of old buildings in China's Cultural Revolution, which take place in 1960s. During that wicked political campaign, China has suffered great loss of precious old buildings and majority of leftovers couldn't be renovated to original status. Had such buildings survived to nowadays, more tourism candidates would be given for our successors and they would learn vividly from paying visits to historical spots.

Last but not last, what I find the most questionable about this issue is that the author assumes current development and conservation of historical remnant as contradictory. However, such assumption could be wrong, as it natively neglects many possibilities to harmonize those two factors and achieve a more synergic progress. With regard to the first part, it is implausible to argue that we have to make exclusive decision between those two, because modern technologies could effectively ameliorate status quo of old building and enlengthen their duration for further usages. From this perspective, it is possible for us to reuse them for modern purposes, such as office usage or public leisure, which in turn avoid unnecessary modern construction and relevant costs. In addition, historical conservation could well serve to cultural industry, which occupies a significant position in contemporary development. Together with supported policy and investments, old buildings could bring about more tourism chances and increase over regional incomes, which could enable governments to fulfill their development goal. Germany's remaining churches from mid ages will exemplify our point. Thanks to frequent maintenance by modern technologies, they not only well function as places of people's daily worship, but also attract a barrage of tourists every year, which further aggrandize financial support and make cultural industry prosperous.

In summary, it's beneficial to make endeavor for modern development, considering inapplicable conservation for ancient buildings and impending urgent demand. However, as discussed before, we shouldn’t natively drop our liability for historical relics. Furthermore, reservation of historical residue and modern development doesn’t form an irreconcilable dichotomy: by leveraging technologies and sensible decisions, we might probably grasp with both of them.