When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is often said that the history of a place can be observed in its architecture. If one were to travel the streets of Athens, the remnants of the Parthenon and Acropolis should allow visitors to gain some insight into Greek history and the workings of its society. While some may refute the preservation of old buildings for the purposes of modern usage and advancement, it is clear that such buildings that have existed for many centuries should continue to stand for multiple reasons. I believe that historic buildings and monuments should be saved over time for both their historic value and eco...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.