According to an international travel magazine, many tourists today fly straight to their holiday resort and almost never leave it. Unlike tourist in the 1960s and 70s, they return home with no experience of the local culture. Why do you think this happen? How was tourism different in the past?

About the 1960s and 70s, travelers visiting their holiday destination would try to gain a lot of experience of the culture and they were curious about surroundings in their target places. But, nowadays, everything has already changed. People can get the places directly due to the available tourist services.

Firstly, modern people are more hectic with their life and working so they don’t have much time. This will lead them to try to make shorter travels in order to relax and relieve stress effectively. The hotels which have complete and modern facilities is also the second reason. Staying there, travellers are provided differrent activities like swimmins, gym or golfing so that they will not try to move different places. I think they lose the opportunity to meet local people and discover novelty and interesting landscape.

The transport system can be considered as the third reason. Even though former travelling methods like personal vehicles and buses would be a better choice for experiencing the culture, people in the 21st century like modern transportation system like airplanes and trains are more convenient. This would lead them to restrict their communication with other people like in the past. Lastly, tourists might suffer from being robbed or ripped off by indigenous people. Therefore, the luxury accomodations are the best choice for their safety and comfortable feeling.

In conclusion, tourism are very different from in the past and nowadays. A modern lifestyle, the advance of technology and also safety are the main reasons for people wanting to stay in their landing place without communicating with locals and explored the core values of the culture.