Children nowadays watch significantly more television than those in the past, which reduces their activity levels accordingly. Why is this the case?

What measures can you suggest to encourage higher levels of activity among children?

More and more children have been addicted to TV programs than those in the past. This social issue has become a hotly debated topic currently. To my mind, some reasons will be indicated and some suitable suggestions will be also shown to decrease amount of time spending on the screen.

First of all, there have many interesting programs on TV to meet demands of children’s interests. These programs can be cartoon films, soap operas or action films. These entertainments usually have many episodes. Therefore, children are attracted to follow next parts of those and it is hard for children to leave TV. Furthermore, with cable TV, there are different channels for children to have varieties of selections. These above indications can be reasonable arguments to explain why children watch TV too much nowadays than those in the past.

Regarding to measurements to deal with the current issue, both parents and authorities play an important role. From my view, the role of parents is absolutely crucial to limit the least time of children to watch TV. Children should be taken to take part in physical activities like playing football, volleyball or tennis with their peers when they enjoy their leisure time after school hours. What is more, the best way is to inspire children to leave TV and to focus on their studies, parents should take children to go to bookshops and libraries. As for authorities, it is necessary to show the negative impacts of sitting too much in front of the screen because children would have better understanding about the drawbacks of this issue.

It seems to me that children are keen on TV today than those in the past due to different interesting programs as well as channels. To cope with the social issue, it is essential for parents and authorities to have appropriate solutions.