Few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries while the usage of others is rapidly declining Is this a positive or a negative development

Language is an artistic and easiest method of communication and there are enormous numbers of language being spoken all over the globe. However, only few of them are widely spoken leaving all other languages on their grave. In global perspective, this is quite positive trend but still this trend has brought so many ills in its wake.

On one hand, fewer the speaking languages easier the communication. Many people avoid themselves learning from other strange language which they believe is time consuming and hectic. Moreover, learning different language even worsens performance on your own native language ability. In addition, in these globalizing days people prefer one common international language for everything. For example, Singapore, Most of provinces of Canada, Most African Countries are nowadays adopting English language replacing their own native language which once used to be their official language. However, certain few languages from around the world such as Hindi, English, Chinese are spoken in increasing rate by their associated nationals. To exemplify, Hindi is being more and more spoken by its neighboring countries like Nepal,Pakistan,Bangladesh,Bhutan etc. I believe this is more or less dominance effect on surroundings.

On the other hand, loss of language is loss of cultural dialect, history and identity of certain communities.All people have equal rights and opportunities to protect their language.Therefore, in my opinion government has to be more flexible to accumulate all language spoken within its territories to respect their tradition and communication methods. There are two obvious reasons for protecting such less spoken language; Firstly, language is cultural identity of people and thus it has to be preserved. Secondly, ousting of less spoken language by invading other language mean encroachment of rights to communicate of each individual. Furthermore, people from less spoken language class have to acculturate themselves to other language which is troublesome.

To conclude, use of fewer language makes easier for people to quickly grasp the way of communication but this will abet in losing the identity of other people who do not want to adapt to new language. Therefore frugal decision is required from each government around the globe to protect its citizen's preferable speaking language.